

The Sunflower, editor in chief win top awards at state college media convention April 10, 2019

The Sunflower, Wichita State University's student newspaper, earned top overall publication honors from Kansas Collegiate Media over the weekend, and the editor took the top individual award. The overall publication contest required editors to submit three issues published in a row. Two out-of-state judges each scored The Sunflower at more than 90 out of 100 points in the areas of coverage, writing, editing, visuals and leadership, earning them the Gold Award. The staff also earned All-Kansas by scoring the highest total among newspapers from four-year public colleges. The Sunflower's website, www.thesunflower.com, earned a Silver Award.

"The stories you write are not getting written in very many college newspapers across the country, and the reporting and writing prowess you do those stories with is exceptional," said one of the judges, Mark Witherspoon, in his comments to the staff. "Then you follow it up with incisive editorials that make it hard for anyone to disagree with on subjects that truly matter in your community. That's great journalism, and y'all are doing it well."

Matthew Kelly, The Sunflower's editor in chief, was named the Kansas College Journalist of the Year, competing against college journalists from all public and private four-year schools.

"This student submitted entries on a few different topics that all showed strong evidence of investigative journalism," a judge wrote about Kelly. "His reporting is thorough, using multiple sources, including live interviews and good use of records. Good watchdog work, as noted by his references."

It is the third year in a row the honor has gone to a Wichita State student. Kelly is a junior at Wichita State majoring in policital science with a minor in communication.

The staff also took home 40 awards in the individual contests. Except the copy editing contest, all entries were work that had been published in the print edition of The Sunflower or online.

Complete list of The Sunflower's awards from Kansas Collegiate Media:

Matthew Kelly, editor in chief

Kansas Collegiate Journalist of the Year

The Sunflower (print edition)

All-Kansas (Highest score among newspapers from four-year schools) Gold Award (Score of at least 90 out of 100)

The Sunflower (online edition)

Silver Award (Score of at least 80 points out of 100)

Special Sections, Publications or Innovations

1st — Sunflower (Day in the Life Issue)

2nd — Sunflower — (Voter's Guide)

On-Site Copy Editing Contest

2nd — Evan Pflugradt

3rd — Daniel Caudill

HM — Matthew Kelly

Investigative Reporting

2nd — Matthew Kelly & Andrew Linnabary

3rd — Matthew Kelly

News Writing

1st — Andrew Linnabary & Matthew Kelley

2nd — Matthew Kelly

HM — Daniel Caudill

Feature Writing

2nd — Andrew Linnabary

3rd — Daniel Caudill

HM — John Darr

Editorial Writing

1st — Matthew Kelly

HM — Chance Swaim

Column Writing

1st — Audrey Korte

2nd — Ryan Crews

Sports Feature Writing

2nd — Evan Pflugradt

3rd — Evan Pflugradt

HM — Marshall Sunner

Headline Writing

2nd — Jenna Farhat

HM — Evan Pflugradt

HM — Daniel Caudill

News/Event Photo

3rd — Khanh Nguyen

HM — Easton Thompson

Feature Photo

HM — Easton Thompson

Sports Photo

1st — Joseph Barringhaus

Photo Essay (Print)

HM — Selena Favela & Joseph Barringhaus

Photo Essay/Gallery (Online)

2nd — Joseph Barringhaus

HM — Joseph Barringhaus

Illustrations & Infographics

1st — Madeline Deabler

HM — Madeline Deabler

HM — Chance Swaim & Madeline Deabler

Front Page Design

1st — Madeline Deabler

3rd — Madeline Deabler

Social Media Post

1st — Madeline Deabler

2nd — Joseph Barringhaus

3rd — Evan Pflugradt

HM — Madeline Deabler

Social Media Series

2nd — Madeline Deabler & Joseph Barringhaus