Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes Monday May 13, 2019

3:30-5:00 pm - RSC, Beggs Ballroom

Senators Present: Ahmed, Bailey, Barut, Billingham, Bowen, Bray, Bryant, Bukonda, Castro, Celestin, Clawson, Core, Decker, Dowling, English, Figy, Flynn, Granada, Hakansson, Hammond, Hill, Hull, Jarman, Kyoung, Lockard, Markova, Mirasol, Moody, Muthitacharoen, Myose, Navarro, Nobel, Popejoy, Price, Pulaski, Ross, Schwartz, Showstack, Smith-Campbell, Sternfeld-Dunn, Storrer, Tamtam, Yao, Yildirim.

Excused: Carlson, Moore-Jansen, Mozzani, Nicks, Sylvester.

Absent: Babnich, Bannister, Birzer, Brown, Buerge, Jameson, Small, Smith, Suzuki, Solomey, Weheba. Zewde.

Summary of Actions

| Agenda Item | Notes/Discussion/Process | Action |
|------------------------------------|--|--------|
| Call to Order | President B. Smith-Campbell | |
| Informal Statements and Proposals | | |
| Approval of April 22, 2019 minutes | | MSC |
| President's Report | Senate exec committee voted to posthumously award Bardo distinguished service faculty award. Follow up Report General Faculty meeting – Approved proposed revisions rules, bylaws. Approved chronic low performance and dismissal for cause with two amendments. Also approved gen. ed. first year seminar (65 to 39). Follow up Open Education Resources (OER) Senate approved Recommendations Summary/Follow up Report General Faculty meeting: 4.29.19 Approved Proposed Revisions Rules, Bylaws, and Constitution as presented: Motion made to on charges for scholarship and student aid committee motion made to retain charge 1: Review actions and policies of the financial aid office and the admissions office as they relate to scholarships and student aid. This issue was tabled by the president. | |
| Committee Reports | | |

| Rules – Election update | Gery Markova | | |
|-------------------------|---|---|---|
| | University at large (2) | Pina Mozzani Chase Billingham | |
| | Fine Arts at large (2) | Michael Sylvester Will Flynn | - |
| | Fine Arts Music (1) | Aleks Sternfeld-Dunn |] |
| | Fine Arts Perf. Arts (1) | Denise Celestin | |
| | Engineering at large (1) | Roy Myose at large IME dept. – Gamal Weheba Aerospace dept. Brandon Buerge Eng. Technology – Perlekar Tamtam | |
| | Business | Management – Gery Markova Accounting – Paul Harrison | 1 |
| | CHP Nursing (3) | Jolynn Dowling Terri Core Angela Storrer | |
| | LAS Science (4) | John Hammond Chunsheng Ma Terrance Figy | |
| | CHP Health Science (3) | Ray Hull | |
| | Library (1) | Jessica Mirasol | |
| | CAS (3) | Richard "Mike" Ross Whitney Bailey | |
| | LAS Humanities (3) | Susan Castro Enrique Navarro James Schwartz | |
| | LAS Social Sciences (3) | Kyoung Lee Shaunna Millar | |
| Rules | J. Jarman – Follow up on Approv appointments. | ed changes from Gen. Fac. Meeting Committee | |

| Faculty Workload/Review Taskforce | B. Smith-Campbell – Draft Recommendations: Next Steps Recommend to provide multiyear contracts to NTT faculty. Modify WSU tenure and promotion policy to include UniScope model language. Allow increased flexibility in the faculty workload based on department/college need as well as involvement. Annual review with individuals about their workload distributions. | |
|--|---|--|
| Gen. Ed. Revision Committee | J. Jarman update – General Education Revision Committee – J. Jarman • Change the following components of General Education: – Reduce credit hours to 33 hours from 42. – Combine introductory, further studies & issues and perspectives into one general education category. – Allow up to 3 credit hours of approved general education to be counted toward the major. | |
| Non Standing Committee updates Chairperson policy committee | Faculty chairperson policy taskforce: Jarman discussed work done by this committee and expects they will bring their recommendations to the senate in the fall. | |
| Workload/review Taskforce | Faculty Workload/Review Taskforce: Committee Charge, committee members and recommendations can be found in the Senate Annual Report. The Committee expects the policy recommendations to be brought to the Senate in the Fall. | |
| As May Arise | Betty acknowledged and thanked outgoing senators, committee chairs and committee members. Also thanked the executive committee. Presidential award to Deepak Gupta. Recognized each of the executive committee members. | |
| Induction of Incoming President Jarman | B. Smith-Campbell | |
| Adjourn | End of Year Celebration incoming Senators | |

Faculty Senate (2019-2010) Meeting Agenda Monday May 13, 2019 – immediately following 2018-2019 Senate meeting RSC Beggs Ballroom End of Year Celebration

| Agenda Item | Notes/Discussion/Process | Outcome/Action/Completed |
|---------------|--|--------------------------|
| Call to Order | Jeff Jarman Presiding | |
| | President Jarman and Senators recognized outgoing President Smith-Campbell | |

| Election of Officers | Jeff Jarman. Presiding | |
|----------------------|--|--|
| | President elect: Aleks Sternfeld-Dunn Vice president Gery Markova Secretary Roy Myose At large Susan Castro At large Jeff Pulaski At large (appointed by president) Whitney Bailey All officers elected by voice vote. | |
| Adjourn | | |