Flags Header


For International Graduate Students

The Maha “Maggie” Sawan Fellowship for Graduate Students was established by Dr. Edwin Sawan, Professor Emeritus in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Wichita State University. It was established in memory of his wife, Maha “Maggie” Sawan, who died in 2010, and honors her lifelong dedication to education and service to family and community. It celebrates her achievements and the respect she engendered in all who came in contact with her.

The Maha “Maggie” Sawan Fellowship for Graduate Students funds two annual fellowships one each semester, first awarded in fall 2011. Since that time, each semester a new Sawan fellow has been named.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Applicants must:
    • be graduate students enrolled full or part-time at Wichita State University.
    • have an undergraduate degree from Wichita State University or have completed at least nine (9) credit hours in a graduate program at WSU.
    • have at least 2 semesters remaining in their degree program (since the award is divided into two semesters)
    • have and maintain a minimum 3.5 grade point average.
  • Preference will be given to international students enrolled in the College of Engineering.
  • Applicants will be required to provide a written essay on one of two or three choices of topics (no less than 1 full page, no more than two full pages).

Additional Information:

  • Application Deadlines vary each semester: Applications are closed for the 2019-2020 academic year
  • Fellowship awards will be made without regard to financial need.
  • The fellowship is valid for two consecutive semesters and is not renewable.
  • No recipient will be excluded from consideration based on race, religion, color, national origin, gender, age, sexual orientation, marital status, status as a veteran, or disability.
  • Awards will be $6,400 each, divided between two semesters. This may be fall/spring semesters or spring/fall semesters with two fellows on campus at any given time.